iPhone App Wish List

July 15, 2008

As of today over 800 apps are available at Apple iTunes App Store.  It’s been fun browsing them, but I’ve only installed the following:

AIM
Box Office
eBay Mobile
Facebook
Pandora Radio
Remote
Super Monkey Ball
Twitterriffic
WeatherBug
Maybe I’m too picky, or maybe I’m just to paranoid junking up my beautiful iPhone.  Interestingly, I have also pared down my collection of “Web Apps” since the release of the 2.0 firmware, so my total collection of home screen icons is down to less than two screens.
At any rate, I have started to compile a wish list of apps I’d love to see–the sooner the better.
Netflix
This app already exists for “jailbroken” iPhones, so it’s just a matter of time.  In fact, I heard the developer of this app interviewed in an Internet webcast last Thursday night and he indicated he’s already submitted it to Apple for review.  The ability to update my Netflix queue on the go will be nice.  Very nice.
MMS Client
Yes, I know I can just e-mail photos to any phone recipient. And, yes, I’m aware that this will likely require some cooperation with AT&T to implement.  As far as I’m concerned AT&T can just write it themselves, as long as I don’t have to deal with the horrendous kludge of a process we have today for handling an inbound MMS message.  For the love of Han Solo, why do we have to invoke Safari and enter a message ID and password?  How hard can it be to fix this?
ESPN App
I’ll admit this is the neanderthal sports (college football) nut in me revealing itself.  There it is.  But I really want this.  ESPN Mobile works fine for WindowsMobile devices, but they could do SO MUCH MORE on the iPhone.  I envision something like a marriage of SportsTap and MLB at Bat.  I’d pay for this one.
Pizza
My family orders pizza at least once a week.  It’s a staple.  I’d love to see an iPhone app that lets me order pizza from my choice of Pizza Hut, Dominos, Papa Johns, Mazzios (a local fave), etc.  It should be able to store my customer information, remember my last and favorite orders, and check the status of my order/delivery.  In reality, an incarnation of this will likely be distributed on a per company basis.  I can live with that.
MYOB or QuickBooks
I don’t want the whole accounting suite, just a secure, wireless dashboard view of my business essentials.  I’d like to see my current accounts receivables, payables, account balances, and some cashflow and expense charts.
Depth of Field
This is for my photography needs.  I want a quick calculator for photographic depth of field/focal plane given my aperture and distance from subject.  Similar calculators have existed for Palm and WindowsMobile for several years.  This one should be easy.
Arvest/Home National Bank Online Banking
Simply, I want MY banks to have the exact same functionality as the Bank of America app.  I’m baffled that Arvest recently released and seems to be quite proud of a secure, mobile banking app that works with AT&T Wireless and Verizon and several phones, but not the iPhone.  Hey, Arvest, ever heard of the iPhone?  They’ve sold 7 million of them in the last year.  One million in the last three days.  
WeatherScope
This would be an iPhone port of the existing app for Mac and Windows desktops.  It’s a really sweet program that lets you graphically overlay map, radar, and statistical weather data in any custom form you want.  In Oklahoma, it’s especially cool as it allows you to access MesoNet data for really granular analysis.
Are there any apps you’d like to see?  
2 Responses to “iPhone App Wish List”

  1. Anonymous said

    It’s not an app, but check out the ESPN mobile site:

    http://m.espn.go.com/wireless/index

    They just revved it for iPhone, looks pretty solid. MLB scoreboard is great and the in-game scores are better than Sportstap, I love the matchup data during each at bat. There’s a little video but not as much as MLB At Bat…

  2. Joshua said

    Thanks for the update! It really is an improvement over the old version.

Leave a Reply

